Cisco Intern Profile

Julie Bao Blog ImageJulie Bao
2017 Software Engineering Intern at Cisco
Computer Engineering, B.S. at San Jose State University
Graduating Fall 2018

Tell us about your background.
I was born and raised in Sunnyvale, CA and currently attend San Jose State University as an upcoming Senior next Fall! I am majoring in Computer Engineering and will be graduating Fall 2018.

Tell us about your role at Cisco.
I am a Software Engineering intern at Cisco for the summer, working in the IT department! For my current project, I am learning how to take on more of a business analyst role by becoming that bridge between the business team and the development team. This allows me to have my feet on both sides of the project, and I can get the full exposure and really understand the project.

Tell us about an interesting project that you’ve worked on.
The interesting project I am currently working on is a pricing tool that will help sales sell to different customers Cisco services that are critical to their businesses. We are working on creating a guided selling model that will help businesses figure out exactly what products they need and the estimated price, through a series of questions and calculations.

What’s challenging about your role?
Because this project is set to be complete in a very short timeline, this role requires quick thinking and learning. As the middleman between business and development, I must be able to understand the requirements and be able to communicate that properly to the development team in a more technical way. That transition I found difficult at first but, is definitely a good learning experience for me.

Describe Cisco’s culture.
I really love working at Cisco because of the company culture here. I believe that the three core principles of Cisco, “Connect Everything”, “Innovate Everywhere”, “Benefit Everyone”, can be seen in the environment and people here. Everyone is very supportive of my growth and I continue to learn new things every day. The work schedule can also be very flexible and I really enjoy working here!

What advice would you give to your younger self?
I would tell myself to try and join as many organizations as possible! Because SJSU is a commuter school, there are not as many opportunities for a commuter, like myself, to meet new people. By joining different organizations, whether it is social or educational, will allow for more networking opportunities and a better support system later on in college.

What advice would you give to students that are interested in your career path?
Classes will be challenging but it will all be worth it in the end, when you start working on projects that you are passionate about ☺ Don’t be afraid to reach out for help from peers and professors!

What was challenging about the job search process?
Facing rejections, but being here in the Silicon Valley means having a wide variety of opportunities, so remember to never give up and to keep applying!

What was the toughest interview question you received?
Getting asked a question that I have not learned about yet in my courses. Remember to be honest and interviewers are aware that we are still students who will not know everything yet!

Leave a Reply

